

METTE JUUL: CHANGE

Mette Juul - Lars Danielsson - Ulf Wakenius - Heine Hansen - Gilad Hekselman - Per Møllehøj.

Jazz singer, songwriter, and guitarist Mette Juul has a new album coming out on September 6, released by Universal Music. On this album, Juul reveals new sides of herself through intimate solo, duo and triosessions.

Change was recorded partly in Juul's own home and partly in New York and Sweden. Anchored in her voice and guitar, the music happened in the moment with the musicians in the studio.

Mette Juul is internationally recognized and critically acclaimed for her earlier releases *There is a Song(2015), Moon on my Shoulder* (2012) featuring Blue Note trumpet player Ambrose Akinmusire alongside others, and the debut album *Coming in from the Dark* (2010) featuring Palle Mikkelborg and Alex Riel among others. *"Juul is one of those artist who creep up on you and grow upon you and, as you absorb the melodies and intriguing lyrics, suddenly you're in love with a voice".* Lance Liddle London Jazz News.

With *Change* Juul creates a new sound around her songs and music from Brazil and the U.S.

Juul is joined by a number of remarkable musicians; bass and cello player Lars Danielsson (SE), guitar players Ulf Wakenius (SE), Gilad Hekselman (USA) and Per Møllehøj (DK), all of whom accentuates Juul's fondness for the guitar. Heine Hansen, who has been a part of Juul's career for years, contributes with piano, celeste, rhodes and the harmonica.

"A lot of the songs relate to change, a concept that interests me. Life is also about change... People always say that it's great to be young. I thought it was awful. I enjoy getting older. Life has become more fun and holds a new sense of freedom."

On *Change* Juul present a line of new songs; *It Might Be Time To Say Goodbye* is one of them, another song; *I'm Moving On* was written by Kirk Nurock, the insisting *Get Out of Town* by Cole Porter and Juul's recording of Antonio Carlos Jobim's *Double Rainbow* about opening one's eyes to nature's wonders and maybe give in to the pleasure of a basic condition in life, change.

Other original songs include *Young Song*, in which Juul questions the perfect love life and the true meaning of it all. *Northern Woods* is about finding a quiet place to clear one's mind when life might not have turned out the way you dreamed it would.

An earlier song by Juul, *There is a Song*, has changed its title to *At Home* and has maybe found its true home in this new version.



Mette Juul talks about the album:

"It has been a delightful and inspiring process to record **Change**. I didn't plan much, things just started happening by themselves - in a good way. I sat down in front of the mic with a head clear of thoughts - and then a process started. Whatever came out came out.

I have been inspired by music from Brazil and have once again fallen in love with songs from the U.S. - a melting pot of many cultures in itself. This has led me to write several new songs, some of them in cooperation with the piano player Heine Hansen (Young Song) and the bass player Thomas Fonnesbæk (Northern Woods).

Lars Danielsson was immensely important to the creation of this album. He started co-producing quite spontaneously during the recordings and his wealth of ideas has added a new dimension to my songs. Lars introduced me to Ulf Wakenius and he became another wonderful gift to the project. Meeting Gilad Hekselman one afternoon in New York was exotic. We recorded several songs in many different ways, and of these **Northern Woods** and **Dindi** felt right for this album. Heine Hansen, who has inspired me through most of my career, also plays on many of the songs.

It's a great pleasure to create music with such wonderful people, and there is enough additional material for an EP which will be released a couple of months after Change and will be called New York – Copenhagen. The EP will also feature the American guitar player Mike Moreno.

I have dedicated the album to bass player Jesper Lundgaard and drummer Alex Riel; they have meant so much for my early career."

CREDITS

Mette Juul : vocal and guitar Ulf Wakenius : guitar Lars Danielsson : acoustic bass, cello and cymbals Heine Hansen : piano, Rhodes, celeste, harmonica Gilad Hekselman : guitar Per Møllehøj : guitar

Produced by Mette Juul Co-produced by Lars Danielsson and Lasse Nilsson Recorded by : Lasse Nilsson, Mette Juul at home, Alex Haley at Big Orange Studio Mixing and mastering : Lasse Nilsson at Nilento Studio Göteborg Photography : Alex Nyborg Madsen Press contact : Dannie Vieten : mobile phone +45 21218821

KOMPONISTER :

Beautiful Love : music by Wayne King, Victor Young, Egbert Van Alstyne, lyrics by Gillespie At Home (There Is a Song) : music and lyrics by Mette Juul Get Out of town : music and lyrics by Cole Porter It Might Be Time To Say Goodbye : music and lyrics by Mette Juul Double Rainbow : music by Antonio Carlos Jobim, lyrics by Gene Lees Just Friends : music by John Klenner, lyrics by Sam M. Lewis I'm Moving On : Music by Kirk Nurock, lyrics by Judy Niemack Dindi : Music by Aloysio De Oliveira, Antonio Carlos Jobim, lyrics by Ray Gilbert Young Song : music by Heine Hansen and Mette Juul, lyrics by Mette Juul Without a Song : music ce-written by Mette Juul based on "I Am Who I Am" by Thomas Fonnesbæk, lyrics by Mette Juul The Peacocks (A Timeless Place) : music by Jimmy Rowles, lyrics by Norma Winstone Evening Song : music and lyrics by Mette Juul

Playing time : 46.49 min